Traditional territories

Updated March 2019

Below are the names of the BC First Nations that host CSF schools on their territory, as well as fact sheets on those Nations.


Proximity community: a smaller territory, called a reserve, that has a boundary. A nation can have several bands. Ex: Secwepemc Nation (Shuswap) has 17 bands.

Nation: A larger traditional territory that does not have a border and shares the same culture with one or more bands. Note that sometimes the nation has the same name as their band. Ex: Squamish First Nation is the name of both their Nation and their Band.